My Blogging Routine


My TBR pile is, as blogging tradition dictates, threatening to drown me. I do find myself buying more on ebook than I did before I started blogging – mostly because a greater proportion of my TBR is now indie or self-published books, which I find are often significantly cheaper on ebook than physical copy – and for good reason! I get a lot more books from specific recs and rec lists, and less from random book buying. But I am trying to restrain my book-buying this year so I can deal with my TBR… 


I read around three or four books depending on the week, and my free time. I tend to only read during the week, on my commute and in my lunch break – which is around three hours’ reading a day, depending on the trains. Because most of my reading is on the move, I prefer paperbacks, which means that I have a huge stack of hardbacks that I don’t know when I’m going to read??


I have an A5 notebook that lives in my rucksack (it’s orange). After I finish a book, I write up to a page about that book – not a full review, but just enough notes to remember how I excited I was about the book, and if I had any favourite things or stuff I thought was dodge. Then at the weekend – usually on Saturday, depending on what I’m up to – I write them all up. The idea is to have enough time left over to put together the header images for the reviews, and also take photos for any Instagram challenges – though I think the only one I might manage this year is for Novel Knight’s Beat the Backlist series!

Here’s a pic of my super cool writing desk where I write most of my posts and reviews.

As you might be able to see in this photo, I also have three other notebooks on the go to track my reading for my 2017 reading challenges – Diversity Bingo, Beat the Backlist and Read Diverse. It’s such a satisfying feeling to finish a book that I get to count for all three!


My plan was to schedule a review every Thursday, but I’m just writing too many (#humblebrag)! At the moment, I’m churning out a good three or four a week, and I don’t want to wait eight weeks or so to share them with you guys – especially if I’ve spent the week yelling about the book in question. So I schedule reviews to publish on Mondays and Thursdays, and just shift the Monday ones out of the way if I’ve got something else to share instead – like this post!

When I started blogging, I never thought I’d ever be so regular at posting, or get so involved in the book blogging community. Even now, I feel like I’ve only just scratched the surface, and I can’t wait to see what the next months – and, fingers crossed, years! – bring. I’m so grateful for all I’ve learned, all the great recs I’ve got, and all the wonderful people I’ve met so far. ❤


I pretty much spend every waking hour on Twitter. It may at some point become a problem, and I do have to avoid it first thing in the morning so that I don’t literally wake up to whatever bullshit Trump did while I was sleeping (I’m UK-based, btw). But Twitter is normally  where I go to look for new bloggers, new memes and new recs.

I also have Bloglovin’. I really love how easy it is to get practically all my favourite blogs in one place to browse whenever I have a free twenty minutes or so – last thing at night when Twitter is asleep, usually!

It’s feeling more and more comfortable for me to tweet authors and other bloggers, and comment on posts. In the beginning, I felt super awkward, and I didn’t want to bother them or accidentally weird them out, so I stayed quiet. But I’ve found that bloggers, by and large, are a lovely bunch, and love interacting with readers – whether of books or blogs!

***

So, how do you guys manage your blogs? Do you have a routine, or is it a more spontaneous thing for you? Let me know in comments, or link to your posts about it!

3 thoughts on “My Blogging Routine

Leave a Reply

