Harry Potter Re-Read, Part 1


I’ve been re-reading Harry Potter, and I have some feelings. My hope is that putting them in a blog post will somehow disguise my incoherent yelling better than if I did on Twitter. I think it may be a vain hope, but I’m going to give it a try anyway! Part 1 covers books 1-3, but there are mild spoilers for the other books. Well. More like books 2 and 3 really – apparently I didn’t find much that was intertextually interesting in book 1. Awks.

HP!.jpg

Who wants to bet this is going to be important later? …Nah.

On a more serious note, I think Harry’s imposter syndrome is an interesting essay topic. He’s not a wizard, he should be in Slytherin… There’s a pattern all the way through that he’s not quite convinced that he belongs in places, and in the sixth book (spoilers!) he has the opportunity to contrast this directly against Tom Riddle’s attitude. Tom’s response to being told he was a wizard was ‘well, of course’. Harry’s response to being told he’s a wizard was ‘no, you’ve made a mistake’.

HP2.jpg

HAGRID WAS ONE OF THE BRAVEST PEOPLE HARRY KNEW LOUDER FOR THE PEOPLE IN THE BACK.

Seriously. ‘Albus Severus Potter’ my arse.

IMG_2044

#Robegate: these kids wear t-shirts under their Quidditch robes, and from the sound of it he was wearing this t-shirt under his regular robes too. But adult wizards just cannot with Muggle clothing – maybe it’s a generational thing? Ron doesn’t noticeably struggle with the concept of trousers (yet, I’m currently halfway through book 6), but evidence from the Quidditch World Cup and the bloke who goes to visit the Gaunts in book 6 shows that parent/grandparent aged people are not fans of trousers/shirts. Whereas the kids seem to wear robes and Muggle clothes interchangeably.

IMG_2046

I’d forgotten how hecking creepy Pettigrew is. This is one of the reasons I’d love to see a Marauders’ book – what was Pettigrew like in school? How exactly was his bravery trait twisted into cringing servitude?

Although, thinking about it, I’m not sure I’d like the Marauders at school. Pettigrew would likely already have had elements of … this; James and Sirius basically did whatever they liked, including bullying other kids; and Lupin, as he freely admits on more than one occasion, was too weak to stand up to his friends – in exactly the way that baby Neville learns to do in the FIRST BOOK. There’s an attractive bad boy quality to them from afar, but I’m not sure how much of a fan I’d be of a close-to read.

IMG_2047

And I’ll end my Harry Potter re-read Part 1 with this: my favourite page from the whole series. I know that Harry’s constant suspicion that everything that goes wrong is either Malfoy or Snape’s fault is really annoying, but flipped the other way here it’s completely hecking hilarious. Partly because Snape is a grown hecking man and thinks that this is appropriate behaviour, and partly because he’s absolutely right.

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Re-Read, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter Re-Read, Part 2 | Rustling Reads

  2. Pingback: Harry Potter Re-Read, Part 3 | Rustling Reads

  3. Pingback: Harry Potter Re-Read, Part 4 | Rustling Reads

Leave a Reply

